Board of Directors

Arkansas Community Foundation was built by dedicated volunteers who believed in the power of giving to transform Arkansas. Today our board of directors, a statewide group of leaders representing each of Arkansas's four congressional districts, embodies that same spirit of optimism for our state's future and challenges us to become even more effective in our work.

With our board's leadership, we're committed to promoting smart giving to improve communities.


Ted Belden
Past Chair

(District 3)

Ted is the chairman of the board for the  family business, Lomanco. The business was started in 1946 by Ted's Grandfather in Minnesota and moved to Jacksonville in 1974. He graduated from the University of Arkansas with a degree in architecture and is involved with real estate projects in Northwest Arkansas. He is an elder in Presbyterian church and his wife Leslie is an ordained minister.

Carolyn Blakely, Ph.D.

Pine Bluff
(District 4)

In 1968, Carolyn joined the faculty of the University of Arkansas-Pine Bluff, where she retired as the dean of the Honors College. She earned her bachelor's degree at UAPB (then Arkansas AM&N College), her master’s degree at Atlanta University, and her Ph.D. at Oklahoma State University.

Charlotte Brown
Governance Chair

Little Rock
(District 2)

Charlotte retired as senior director of development at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences Donald W. Reynolds Institute on Aging. She previously served as director of development for the Arkansas Arts Center. She is a founding member of St. Margaret’s Episcopal Church and has been active in the Little Rock Garden Club since 1986. She is a member of the Aesthetic Club, the International Women’s Forum, the Arkansas Women’s Leadership Forum and a sustaining member of the Little Rock Junior League.

Jackson Farrow

Little Rock
(District 2)

Jackson serves as general counsel to Stephens Group, Inc., and was previously a senior member of The Rose Law Firm. He is a member of the Arkansas Bar Association and Arkansas Society of Certified Public Accountants, as well as an active member of Second Presbyterian Church, a member of the board of ACCESS Group Inc. and former member of the board of the Country Club of Little Rock.

Dennis Hunt

(District 3)

Dennis is an investment banker with Stephens Inc., currently serving as senior vice president and manager of the Northwest Arkansas office in Fayetteville. He is a current board member of the Fayetteville Chamber of Commerce and previous board member of the Community Foundation's Fayetteville Area affiliate, as well as past member of the Fayetteville Public Education Foundation and Junior Achievement of Arkansas Inc. Northwest District.

Eric Hutchinson
Finance Chair

(District 2)

Eric is the founder of Hutchinson Financial Inc., an independent Registered Investment Advisory firm based in Little Rock. He has more than 25 years of experience in the areas of financial planning, investments, estate planning and tax planning. He is a member of the Financial Planning Association, the Certified Financial Planner Board of Standards and the Investment Management Consultants Association. He has served on the board of directors of the St. Vincent Hospital Foundation and the University of Central Arkansas Friends of Music and was chair of the board of the Community Foundation’s affiliate in Faulkner County.

Heather Larkin
President & CEO
Mahlon Maris, M.D.
Immediate Past Chair

(District 3)

Mahlon is a physician at Harrison Family Practice Clinic and was Commanding Officer at the 12th Military Provincial Hospital in Vinh Long, South Vietnam, where he received a Bronze Star for meritorious service. He is a former president of the Arkansas Academy of Family Physicians.

George McLeod

Little Rock
(District 2)

George retired in 2002 after 37 years as a financial advisor in the securities business. He is a graduate of the Morgan Stanley Wharton Institute Executive Education Program at the University of Pennsylvania, a member of the Downtown Little Rock Rotary Club and a past president of the Arkansas Symphony Foundation.

Steve Nipper

(District 4)

Steve Nipper retired as president of Bancorp South in Magnolia in 2014. He is vice chair of the Magnolia Regional Medical Center Board of Commissioners, treasurer of the Magnolia Arts Council and immediate past chairman of The University of Arkansas Alumni Association.

Sam Scruggs

(District 1)

A 30-year resident of Blytheville, Sam is the executive director of the Mississippi County Arkansas Economic Opportunity Commission, Inc. and serves on the boards of Arkansas Community Action Agencies Association, United Way of Greater Blytheville and Mississippi County Boys & Girls Club.

Angela Shirey
Community Investment Chair

(District 1)

Angela is program consultant for the Walton Family Foundation. Previously, she served as director of finance and operations for Teach for America Arkansas Region, loan specialist with the U.S. Department of Agriculture and commercial loan officer and community development officer at Southern Financial Partners. She holds a master’s of business administration from Arkansas State University and a bachelor’s degree from Tennessee State University. She currently serves on the board of directors of the Helena Health Foundation and was previously a member of the advisory board of the Delta Cultural Center and the board of the Arkansas Single Parent Scholarship Fund.

Beth Sparks

(District 4)

Beth Sparks is vice president and secretary-treasurer of both Offenhauser & Co. in Texarkana and United Insurance Agency in El Dorado. She has previously served on the boards of directors of Habitat for Humanity, Texarkana Red Cross, as well as having been a member of the executive committees of the United Way of Greater Texarkana and Texarkana Resources for the Disabled.

Philip Tappan

Little Rock
(District 2)

Philip is the managing partner of Tappan Land & Water, a company owning majority interest in Purple Cow Restaurants and Natural Resource properties in several Central Arkansas counties. He is also a current member of the boards of St. Vincent Infirmary Foundation, Arkansas Symphony Orchestra Foundation and Arkansas Foodbank Network.

Robert Thompson

(District 1)

Bob is an attorney with Branch, Thompson, Philhours & Warmath, P.A. He was city attorney for Paragould from 1972 to 1993 and served as a deputy prosecuting attorney for the Second Judicial District from 1972 to 1980. An active member of First United Methodist Church of Paragould, he also is a member of the Arkansas Bar Association, member and past president of the Greene-Clay County Bar Association, and member and past president of the Green County Unit board of directors of the American Cancer Society and the Northeast Arkansas Regional Recovery Center board of directors.

Estella Tullgren

Mountain Home
(District 4)

Estella earned degrees at the University of Georgia and University of Arkansas. After retiring from teaching at Northwest Technical Institute in Springdale in 1997, she joined the Community Foundation staff in 2002 as founding executive director of Twin Lakes Community Foundation. She is currently the planned giving and major gifts officer for the Baxter Regional Health Foundation.

Robert Zunick
Vice Chair

Hot Springs
(District 4) 

Robert is Senior Vice President-Investments and Branch Manager of Wells Fargo Advisors, LLC office in Hot Springs. He currently serves on the board of the Hot Springs Area Community Foundation affiliate, Hot Springs Sister City Foundation, Hot Springs Documentary Film Institute and the Rosenzweig Fund for Interfaith Activities. 

Our affiliate offices work locally in every corner of Arkansas. Find the affiliate near you.

Giving Locally


Phone: (501) 372-1116
Fax: (501) 372-1166
Email Us


1400 West Markham
Suite 206
Little Rock, AR 72201

Email Updates