Apply for Giving Tree Grants

Through our signature Giving Tree Grant Program, the Community Foundation supports a broad range of projects with the potential for statewide impact and programs serving immediate local needs.

Each of our 27 affiliates offers Giving Tree grants at least once a year. Typically, these grants are available for a wide variety of charitable causes; sometimes, though, we’ll choose to target a particular need (like hunger relief or childhood nutrition). Check with the affiliate to which you’re applying for information about the current grantmaking focus.

Who's Eligible?

Giving Tree grants are place-based, meaning that your organization must serve one of the areas where we’re currently making grants.

Any 501c3 public charity, hospital or government agency in the counties where we’re making grants is eligible to apply.

Where We’re Currently Making Grants

These affiliates are participating in the Spring 2015 grant cycle: 

Carroll County
Clark County
Cleburne County
Columbia County
Conway County
Cross County
Faulkner County
Fayetteville Area (Washington County) 
Greene County
Hot Springs Area (Garland and Montgomery Counties)
Johnson County
Lee County
Mississippi County
Ouachita Valley (Ouachita and Calhoun Counties)
Phillips County
Pope County
Sharp County
Southeast Arkansas (Ashley and Chicot Counties)
St. Francis County
Twin Lakes (Marion, Baxter, Fulton and Izard Counties)
White County

What We're Looking For

When you apply, we’ll ask you for some basic information about your project.

  1. Proposal Background and Rationale (What community need does this program address and why was this program created?)
  2. Proposal Concept (How will this program address the community need described above? What specific activities/initiatives are involved?)
  3. Proposal Outcomes (How will you measure the success of your program in addressing this community need?)
  4. Organizational Capacity (What makes your organization uniquely qualified to address this community need and to successfully implement the proposed program?)
  5. Dissemination (Can this program be a model for other organizations addressing similar needs in their communities? If so, what is your plan to share the model?)
  6. Sustainability (How do you plan to fund this program in the future?)

You'll also need to complete a project budget (including a list of other donations or financial contributions to the project) and provide a list of your board of directors.

We'll take these factors into consideration when we evaluate your proposal:

  • Potential benefit to the particular population served and to the community as a whole
  • Capacity of the organization to achieve the results outlined in the proposal
  • Likelihood for success, including adequacy of objectives, methods, budget and time frame
  • Evidence of a plan for evaluating the success of the project or program
  • Proposals that have the promise of sustainability beyond the period of the grant
  • Evidence of cooperation or collaboration with other organizations working in the same field
  • Evidence of local financial support (including but not limited to in-kind support) and the likelihood of future support for the project or program
  • The innovation and creative approach manifested in the proposal

Also, please note that if you're applying for funding on behalf of a statewide organization, your proposal is more likely to be successful if you can demonstrate that the project will be based in or have a direct impact on the county where you're applying.

What We're NOT Looking For

Each request is considered on its own merit. However, the following types of requests generally are not considered:

  • Support for annual fundraising campaigns
  • Support for capital campaigns
  • Projects that address sectarian religious purposes
  • Projects that are political in nature or have a political bias
  • Multi-year proposals
  • Scholarships or fellowships for formal education at any level
  • Funding for salaries

If you have questions about whether your funding request meets our guidelines, contact the executive director of the affiliate in your area

Also, please note that if you're applying for funding on behalf of a statewide organization, your proposal is more likely to be successful if you can demonstrate that the project will be based in or have a direct impact on the county where you're applying.

Grant Funding Range

Each of our affiliates determines the funding range for grants in its service area. In general, grants range between $500 and $5,000. 


To apply, download and complete the application form  [DOC] and return it by email to by 11:59 p.m. on Feb. 15. 

Please indicate the name of the affiliate to which you are applying in the subject line of your email. 

Don't Forget Your Six-Month Report!

If you've received a Giving Tree grant, be sure to submit a grant report form within six months of receiving the grant. We want to know how your project is going and how you're using your grant.

Download six-month report form [DOC]

A Giving Tree grant from our Hot Springs Area affiliate helped to fund Project Graduation at Hot Springs High School, a program to help entering freshmen prepare for success and start high school on the right foot.

Our affiliate offices work locally in every corner of Arkansas. Find the affiliate near you.

Giving Locally


Phone: (501) 372-1116
Fax: (501) 372-1166
Email Us


1400 West Markham
Suite 206
Little Rock, AR 77201

Email Updates